Question Icon

The Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions (COAPI) brings together representatives from North American universities with established faculty open access policies and those in the process of developing such policies.

COAPI was formed to share information and experiences and to illuminate opportunities for moving faculty-led open access forward at member institutions and advocating for open access nationally and internationally.

COAPI will offer a collection of best and evolving practices to act as a roadmap for inspiring, promoting and implementing open access policies at institutions without existing or effective open access policies.

Information about COAPI’s mission statement and membership can be found here. Current members are listed on the COAPI Members page.

COAPI Principles

The Coalition is committed to the following:

  • The immediate and barrier-free online dissemination of scholarly research resulting in faster growth of new knowledge, increased impact of research, and improved return on public research investments
  • Developing and implementing institutional open access policies
  • Sharing experiences and best practices in the development and implementation of Open
    Access Policies with individuals at institutions interested in cultivating cultures of open access
  • Fostering a more open scholarly communication system through cultural and legislative change at the local, national, and international levels


COAPI is led by a Chair, Vice-Chair, and Steering Committee, with the PastChair serving in an ex-officio capacity on the Steering Committee. The Steering Committee will have 4 members in addition to Chair, Vice-Chair and PastChair.

The current COAPI Steering Committee consists of:

Anali Maughan Perry, Arizona State University, (Chair, 2019-2020)
Robin Sinn, Johns Hopkins University, (Vice Chair, 2019-2020)
Devin Soper, Florida State University, (Past Chair, 2019-2020)

Jere Odell,
IUPUI (Liaison between COAPI and SPARC Open Access Working Group, Jan 2018-)
Kevin Hawkins, University of North Texas
Erica Pye, Abilene Christian University
Alainna Therese Wrigley, California Digital Library, University of California
Vika Zafrin, Boston University

Learn more about our work