Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions (COAPI)

Photo of COAPI logoThe Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions (COAPI) brings together representatives from North American universities with established faculty open access policies and those in the process of developing such policies. It was formed to share information and experiences and to illuminate opportunities for moving faculty-led open access forward at member institutions and advocating for open access nationally and internationally. COAPI will offer a collection of best and evolving practices to act as a roadmap for inspiring, promoting and implementing open access policies at institutions without existing or effective open access policies.

Getting Started

COAPI can help you launch OA policy development at your institution. Start by joining COAPI, getting engaged and following best practices.

COAPI is an informal organization and at this time no dues are required to join. Potential members are asked to agree to a set of principles that guide COAPI’s education and advocacy efforts. Membership in COAPI is divided into Full Member, Affiliate, and Community Member tiers on the basis of the stage of development or implementation of the joining institution’s OA Policy. More information on COAPI membership and governance may be found here. To join COAPI, please contact us at

A summary report of recent COAPI activities and accomplishments outlines the growth of COAPI from 2013-2017. This report supplements a 2012 summary report of COAPI’s launch and initial success. For further information about COAPI, please contact us at

complete list of COAPI members, along with contact information and information on their institution’s policy, can be found here.

The COAPI Steering Committee consists of:

Devin Soper, Florida State University, (Chair, 2018-19)
Anali Maughan Perry, Arizona State University, (Vice Chair, 2018-2019)
Laura Bowering Mullen, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, (Past Chair, 2018-2019)

Jere Odell, 
IUPUI (Liaison between COAPI and SPARC Open Access Working Group, Jan 2018-)
Shannon Kipphut-Smith, Rice University
Vika Zafrin, Boston University
Naz Pantaloni, Indiana University – Bloomington
Erica Pye, Abilene Christian University

Learn more about our work