Open Education Leadership Program 2017-2018

2017-2018 Pilot Cohort

The pilot of the SPARC Open Education Leadership program ran during the 2017-2018 academic year. The program began in October 2017 with a cohort of 14 fellows selected from SPARC member libraries. Pilot fellows were both students and creators, and helped to evaluate and improve the curriculum along the way.    

SPARC Open Education Leadership Pilot Cohort

The SPARC Open Education Leadership Program Pilot Cohort at the 14th Annual Open Education Conference in Anaheim, CA, October 2017.

Open Education Leadership Fellows

All 14 of the fellows in the pilot cohort successfully completed the program in June 2018. Below are links to their profiles and capstone project work.

  • Talea Anderson, Scholarly Communication Librarian, Washington State University
  • Grace Atkins, Open Education & Outreach Librarian, University of Missouri
  • Christopher A. Barnes, Ph.D., Scholarly Communications Librarian, Gettysburg College
  • Will Cross, Director, Copyright & Digital Scholarship Center, North Carolina State University
  • Abbey Elder, Open Access & Scholarly Communication Librarian, Iowa State University
  • Amanda C. Larson, Open Education Librarian, Penn State University
  • Jen Mayer, Head of Library Research Services, University of Northern Colorado
  • Hope Power, Teaching & Learning Librarian, Simon Fraser University
  • Stephanie Quail, Business Librarian, York University
  • Michelle Reed, Open Education Librarian, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Devin Soper, Scholarly Communications Librarian, Florida State University
  • Janet Swatscheno, Visiting Digital Publishing Specialist, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Cody Taylor, Emerging Technologies Librarian, University of Oklahoma
  • Elaine Thornton, Distance Education Librarian, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville

Open Education Leadership Mentors

  • Steven Bell, Associate University Librarian, Temple University
  • Beth Bernhardt, Assistant Dean for Collection Management and Scholarly Communications, UNC Greensboro
  • Amanda Coolidge, Senior Manager of Open Education, BCcampus
  • Sarah Evelyn, Head, Instructional Design, Brown University
  • Rob Farrow, Research Fellow, The Open University (UK)
  • Jeff Gallant, Program Manager, Affordable Learning Georgia, University System of Georgia
  • Sarah Hare, Scholarly Communication Librarian, Indiana University
  • Bruce Herbert, Director, Office of Scholarly Communications, Texas A&M University
  • Meredith Jacob, Assistant Director, Program on Information Justice and Intellectual Property, American University Washington of Law; Public Lead, Creative Commons USA
  • Katya Pereyaslavska, Online Learning & Accessibility Specialist, University of Toronto
  • Anali Perry, Scholarly Communication Librarian, Arizona State University
  • Elijah Scott, Executive Director, Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC)
  • Katie Steen, Policy Associate, Association of American Universities (AAU)


  • Dr. Tanya Spilovoy developed the program curriculum and leads instruction
  • Nicole Allen, Director of Open Education for SPARC, oversees the program
  • Shannon VanHorn provided instructional design for the program curriculum

Learn more about our work