SPARC Steering Committee Election Candidates: Non-ARL Institutions

Please review the two non-ARL candidates below and use the form at the bottom to cast your vote for one of the candidates.

Christopher Cox
Dean of Libraries, Clemson University

Christopher Cox is Dean of Libraries at Clemson University. As Dean, he is dedicated to collaboratively developing a vision for a world-class research library that provides free and open access for all of Clemson’s students, faculty and staff. While at Clemson, Chris has actively advocated for funding for open education initiatives, and the Libraries are currently developing services which facilitate the sharing of scholarly datasets.Chris has served on and chaired numerous national committees in organizations such as ACRL, ALA and HathiTrust. He has been an active catalyst for library consortia, serving on the planning committee that developed both Whatcom Libraries Collaborate, which brought together regional public and academic libraries, as well as the Iowa Academic Library Alliance. Prior to coming to Clemson, Chris was Dean of Library Services at the University of Northern Iowa and Dean of Libraries at Western Washington University in Bellingham, Washington. He has a BA in English from Susquehanna University in Pennsylvania, an MA in English from the University of Connecticut and a Master of Library Science from the University at Albany, NY. Chris is dedicated to actively educating students and faculty in open access and open educational resource issues and policies, and looks forward to the opportunity to leveraging his expertise to serve all SPARC members.

Tim Pyatt
Dean of the Z. Smith Reynolds Library, Wake Forest University

Tim Pyatt is Dean of the Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University that serves students and faculty in the Undergraduate College, the School of Business, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, and the Divinity School. He manages a $14 million annual budget with over 65 faculty and staff and 150 student employees. Prior to coming to Wake Forest, Tim held leadership positions at Penn State, Duke, and UNC managing archives and special collections and promoting open access to faculty scholarship and digital collections. He also served as an adjunct assistant professor of the practice for UNC’s School of Information & Library Science. Tim has been a Leadership Fellow for the Association of Research Libraries (2013-2015) and in 2012 was elected as a Fellow of the Society of American Archivists.

At Wake Forest, Tim received funding from the Mellon Foundation and private donors to establish a digital scholarship center and has partnered with the University’s Center for the Advancement of Teaching to support digital pedagogy. He is an advocate of open access and helped with the development and adoption of OA policies at both Duke and Penn State. He hopes to add Wake Forest to that list. Tim currently serves on the board and is secretary/treasurer for the Associate of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL).

Learn more about our work