

January 17, 2020

President Donald J. Trump The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave, NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Trump,

The Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions (COAPI), a group of colleges, universities, and research institutions committed to making the results of their researchers accessible to the world, supports providing American taxpayers immediate, free access to the results of scientific research that is publicly funded and supported by Federal agencies. We strongly endorse updating existing U.S. policy to eliminate the current 12-month embargo period on articles that report on publicly funded research, as instituted by the Obama administration, and to ensure that they are made immediately available to the public.

COAPI brings together North American institutions which have established open access policies, or which are in the process of implementing such policies. These open access policies, initiated and approved by the faculty and researchers at our institutions, codify our commitment to provide the broadest possible access to the fruits of research carried out at our institutions, echoing the common mission of all universities and research institutions to create, disseminate, and preserve knowledge. We work tirelessly to implement these policies by providing education, resources and support to researchers at our institutions. Our efforts facilitate compliance with Federal funding agency public access policies through encouraging and enabling deposit in both institutional and federal digital repositories.

Open access policies that take advantage of federal digital repositories provide the public with fast, comprehensive, and cost-effective access to articles reporting on the results of the research funded by taxpayers. These policies provide a rich and growing resource to tap into, so that new connections can be drawn by any interested entrepreneur, business owner, teacher, student, or citizen who would otherwise face significant barriers when accessing this crucial information. As is the case for many of our institutions, U.S. taxpayers directly fund the research represented by these articles, and they have a right to expect that they will have access to its results without unnecessary delays caused by embargos. They also have a right to

expect that the distribution and use of these results will be maximized to increase the return on their research investments. We encourage you and your administration to support a policy that makes this access a reality for all taxpayers.

Specifically, we request that the Administration issue a policy eliminating the current 12-month embargo on article access, and ensure that articles and supporting data resulting from taxpayer-funded research be made immediately available under terms and conditions that allow their full reuse. Our institutions have committed to making our research results available to the public openly, freely, and transparently. The Federal government should as well.

Respectfully,

Anali Maughan Perry, COAPI Steering Committee Chair, on behalf of the Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions

Abilene Christian University Allegheny College Amherst College Arizona State University **Boston University** Bryn Mawr College Bucknell University California Digital Library, University of California California State University, Fullerton California State University Northridge California Institute of Technology Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory College of Wooster Columbia University Concordia University (Montreal) Connecticut College Dartmouth College DePauw University Duke Universitv Emory University Florida State University Georgia Tech Grinnell College Gustavus Adolphus (Library) Harvard University Hope College Indiana University Bloomington Indiana University South Bend Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Johns Hopkins University

Kansas State University Lafayette College Los Alamos National Laboratory Miami University (Ohio) Massachusetts Institute of Technology Middlebury College Oberlin College OCAD University Olin College of Engineering Oregon State University Penn State University Princeton University Purdue University Rice Universitv Rollins College Rutgers University Simon Fraser University Smith College State University of New York at Binghamton Stony Brook University Trinity University (Texas) Université Laval University of Arizona University of California Berkeley University of California Davis University of California Irvine University of California Los Angeles University of California Merced University of California Riverside University of California San Diego University of California San Francisco University of California Santa Barbara

University of California Santa Cruz University of Colorado Boulder University of Delaware University of Florida University of Hawaii Manoa University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign University of Kansas University of Maryland, Baltimore County University of Massachusetts Amherst University of Missouri University of Nevada Las Vegas University of North Carolina Chapel Hill University of North Carolina Greensboro University of North Texas University of Northern Colorado University of Rhode Island University of Texas at Austin University of Washington Utah State University Vassar College Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech) Wake Forest University Wellesley College Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Athabasca University Brigham Young University Butler University California State University, East Bay Concordia University - Portland Cornell University Creighton University Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wavne National Center for Atmospheric Research Stanford University State University of New York at Oneonta Syracuse University Texas A&M University Tarelton State University Touro College & University System Trinity College University at Albany, State University of New York University of Buffalo University of Connecticut University of Iowa University of Kentucky

University of Massachusetts Medical School University of New Hampshire School of Law University of Oregon University of San Diego University of Texas at Arlington University of Wisconsin-Madison Washington University in St. Louis